Introduction to AS3

I’m pretty new to AS3 (around a years worth of serious development under my belt) and I finally feel I’m starting to make some real headway. The principles and syntax has all slipped into place (with many thanks going out to Colin Moock , Hoss Gifford , James Paterson for the “Lost ActionScript Weekend”) plus hours and hours of research through various flash blogs and forums.

Throughout my research I’ve discovered that a lot of the coding principles I am looking to include in my platform game don’t have work throughs and explanations of how the implementation works on the flash blogs I’ve uncovered. Most places just seem to include the actual code required to make it work, and as helpful as I’ve found this, I thought it could be useful to others learning ActionScript to have annotations and my the kind of thought processes I’ve researched compiled in one place.

I hope this proves a decent resource and if I can help only a single person start to understand basic AS3 I think my mission will be fulfilled. Please comment / feedback and I’ll do what I can to help or tailor future posts to help out.

PandaClaire

~ by pandaclaire on June 23, 2010.

Leave a comment